David Drew at the Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics has been awarded the Göran Gustafsson Prize in Chemistry. Photo: Niklas Björling

The Göran Gustafsson Prizes are annually awarded to young outstanding researchers in chemistry, physics, mathematics, molecular biology and medicin. Two researchers at Stockholm University has been awarded in 2020; Hiranya Periris in physics and David Drew in chemistry. David who is affiliated with the Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics studies the transport of fructose and glucose across the cell membrane. Universities across Sweden nominate candidates who are evaluated by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences. It is the Göran Gustafsson Foundation for Natural Sciences and Medical Research who awards the prize.


Read more about the prize and the other winners.